PARIS – French designer Charles de Vilmorin, artistic director of Rochas, has been chosen as president of the fashion jury for the 38th edition of the Hyères International Festival of Fashion, Photography and Fashion Accessories.

The announcement was made Wednesday at the Museum of Decorative Arts.

The accessories jury will be chaired by London jeweler Alan Crocetti, who recently collaborated with Parisian brand Ami, while Dominican photographer and dancer from Berlin Luis Alberto Rodriguez, winner of the 32n/a edition of the festival, will direct that of photography.

One of the highlights of this year’s edition, scheduled for October 12-15, will be the 100th anniversary of the creation of Villa Noailles, the festival’s historic modernist residence built by Charles and Marie-Laure de Noailles, patrons and friends. to a number of influential artists.

This anniversary will be a great opportunity to “remember that for [the couple]they weren’t fashion designers on one side and artists on the other, but all the artists they loved were part of the same family,” said festival founder Jean-Pierre Blanc during a 2022 talk teasing the year-long celebration that will include an hour-long opera performed during the festival.

This year’s exhibition at the Villa d’Hyères will see Marie-Laure de Noailles’ wardrobe revisited by major fashion houses and emerging designers, under the scientific and historical curatorship of Émilie Hammen, who heads the “Chanel Chair and 19M Fashion Know-How”. at the French Fashion Institute.

To select the fashion winners, de Vilmorin can count on the star of “Emily in Paris” Camille Razat; Antoine Gagey, managing director of Jean Paul Gaultier; Hubert Barrère, artistic director of Lesage; the founder of Numéro, Babeth Djian; fashion critic and writer Sophie Fontanel; TV presenter and comedian Daphne Burki; photographer and director Alice Moitié, and singer-songwriters Flora Fishbach, Pierre de Maere and Bilal Hassani. As tradition dictates, the winner of the Grand Prix Première Vision 2022, Finnish designer Jenny Hytönen, will also join the fashion jury.

They will compete for the Grand Prix Première Vision, the fashion grand prize; the Chanel Métiers d’Art 19M prize; the Mercedes-Benz sustainable collection prize and the “Atelier des Matières” prize created in 2022.

Created under the aegis of Chanel and supported by “l’Atelier des Matières”, a social and environmental responsibility initiative working to give new life to unused materials and unsold finished products, the Chanel 19M prize rewards a selection of fabrics and leathers worth 10,000 euros to the designer who will impress the jury by using recycled materials.

Considered a major launching pad for creators since its creation in 1985, the Hyères festival has helped to promote talents such as Viktor & Rolf; Saint Laurent artistic director Anthony Vaccarello; Julien Dossena by Paco Rabanne, and Rushemy Botter and Lisi Herrebrugh, who created the men’s brand Botter.

A new endowment will come on top of the main fashion award, in the form of a year of mentorship by recruitment specialist Stirling International.

To help select the year’s winning accessories, including a leather accessory for the Hermès prize, the Crocetti jury includes GmbH and Trussardi co-creative director Serhat Işik; Amanda Sanchez, Chanel house model; Beka Gvishiani, the commentator behind the Instagram account @stylenotcom; Tyrone Dylan, fashion designer and stylist at Rick Owens; designer and sustainability consultant Maria Bernad; eyewear designer Mauricio Stein; Laura Vandall; Nono Vazquez, fashion director of men’s magazine Icon El Paìs, and last year’s big winner, Joshua Cannone.

From this edition, the grand prize for photography will be called the Grand Prix de la Photographie 7L, in a nod to the library founded by Karl Lagerfeld in Paris who loved him so much “it is part of [him].”

The winning photographer will therefore receive support for the creation and launch of a book published by Editions 7L as well as the production of an exhibition. Chanel will also support the winner with a scholarship of 20,000 euros.

Responsible for judging the best photographers of the year, Rodriguez will have a jury at his side that includes 2022 winner Rala Choi; Francesco Risso, creative director of Marni; Sansovino6 founder and artistic director, Edward Buchanan; photography curator and writer Song Chong, and Adam Murray, academic, curator and head of Central Saint Martins’ Fashion Communication and Promotion Masters Program, among others.

Source link

Leave A Reply